In VONK four musicians and a composer are working together on new productions. The ensemble has a unique sound, due to the original combination of musicians: a soprano, a saxophone player, a clarinetist and a percussionist. VONK is commissioning to other composers. Researching innovative music theatre concepts leads to collaborations with theatre directors, choreographers and scenographers.

Soprano Rianne Wilbers was a soloist in the opera ‘La vie et mort d’Erard’  by Robin de Raaff with the Doelen Ensemble at ‘Rotterdamse Operadagen’. She performed with Blindman! compositions by Louis Andriessen at Concertgebouw Brugge. Saxophone player Tom Sanderman received the Jacques de Leeuw Prijs in 2015 and took part in the Bang on a Can Summerschool in 2016. Recently he performed in the Dutch TV program Vrije Geluiden. Percussionist Reggy van Bakel is member of the band VanDryver and Cast Glass, seen at Cross-Linx festival. Clarinettist Erwin Muller performed with at Festival van Vlaanderen. Artistic director and composer Nicoline Soeter is one of the ‘New Arrivals’. The music theatre piece Wunderkammer she composed with a grant from the Dutch Performing Arts Fund.
VONK collaborated with composer Aart Strootman, actress Nina Willems, scenographer Marc van Vliet en theatre directors Peerke Malschaert and Robin Coops.